Do I need a new distributor?

AAlexander

Hello, everyone. This is my first time posting here, and it's going to be a fairly long post, I think. I have a problem.
I have a fair amount of knowledge and experience about working on engines, but I need some input from folks
who have more of both.

My son has a '68 Falcon with a 200 and a 3-speed. It had been running rough and stalled out while idling
occasionally, also had become hard to start when cold. I thought the timing probably needed to be set, but
before I got around to picking up a timing gun it when downhill suddenly while he was driving it - missing badly
and running VERY rough, lost power and couldn't make it up hills - had to tow it home.

I've been working on it off and on over the past few months, when life has left me alone long enough to do so.
One of the first things I did was to rebuild the carburetor - I looked down it with a flashlight after listening to it run
and saw a puddle of gas, so I figured flooding was the problem. Did the hot water test on the float and it bubbled
like an aquarium aerator, so I found a replacement, tested it too and it passed. I still had flooding after the carb
was back on, but not as bad. The fuel pump (replaced about a year before) was giving me 8 psi, so I replaced it
and the new one did the same. Looking at the online specs given by the various auto parts chains, I could have
kept trying but probably wouldn't have found a pump in my price range that doesn't make too much pressure. So,
problem solved with a fuel pressure regulator. No more flooding, but the problem I set out to fix was no better. In
fact, it had worsened to the point that the car wouldn't even idle on its own without stalling and dying roughly,
More work and more disappointment followed. New points and condenser, gap set with a feeler gauge and
rechecked to make sure I hadn't narrowed it while tightening them down. I thought there was a little improvement