So how does the 200 really stack up? (long)

Bort62

2K+
VIP
So, I realize this is one of those "what if" posts... and generally I find those amazingly lame. However, Matt previously posted his gripe about the cost of hopping up his six and I came down on him fairly hard. That made me think, and when I started thinking about it - I started drawing the conclusion that the ford six we all know and love actually stacks up pretty well against the competition. At least, if you are in a position with a little knowledge and a willingness to learn.

The constant comparison we get with these motors is that, for the money spent, we could have built a V8 that made much more power. Now, I think that arguement is at first glance true. If you have a stock 200 into which you have invested 1k in bolt ons and minor modifications, you are going to be slower than your friend who has spent the same on his 302. However, I think once you start talking about a ground up build - the table starts to become a little more even. Keep in mind, I am sitting on my couch waiting for the old lady to get out of class - so all prices are approximate and if I got somethig wrong - cut me a little slack.

Now, I am/was a chevy guy - and like all chevy guys the only motor I have a wealth of experience with is the beloved small block. I am going to use that for comparison instead of the ford equivilent because frankly, I know the SBC better and what it takes to make it go. So that being said, here is my theological comparison:

If you assume you start with a good rebuildable factory block from both camps, you can negate the relative costs. Consider it starting from scratch.

The costs of basic machine work on the two blocks will be similar, so you can call that even as well. For 800$ you should be able to get either block ready to assemble with confidence that everything is strait and true.