170cid mod

Have a 170 out of a ‘63 fairlane. Would like to use a fuel injection .. recommendations? I am not opposed to swapping out head if necessary and modifying valve train as applicable.
I have plenty of mechanical experience but new to the inline 6. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Also, any
Good books I could use fir references?

thx in advance

The 170 heads happen to be very good almost all other heads will have much bigger combustion chambers (Exception is the 144 head) all the other heads will drop your compression quite a bit. Are you planing to rebuild it?

As far as fuel injection there are several different ways you could go from the new bolt on Holley Kit to grabbing parts from the wrecking yards build your combo using a mega squirt to control it. Here’s a post that rock lord put up on a Holley install. https://fordsix.com/threads/youtube...-install-initial-setup-and-first-start.81748/

best of luck.

Bubba22349

I am planning to rebuild. The machine shop I use is very good and shouldn’t have a problem with any changes I would make. (deck height adjustments for compression considerations)
1. What compression ratio am I shooting for on a 170 with a modified head?
Was not planning on modifying crank or pistons... just the head and related components if necessary. Not looking for crazy horsepower just a good crisp throttle response.

2. What head would you recommend for more air flow?

I would like to use a 200 head and a street performance cam?? Thoughts?