200ci Getting ready to place the head: Locate TDC on compression stroke

This applies only to 200ci

Dr_Dan_WWW

Subscriber
Supporter 2021
Rebuilding 200lm and I am getting ready to replace the head. Before I do that I need to find Top Dead Center on the compression stroke. This is so I can adjust the rockers. I need to mark the dampner at TDC and then at the firing order's TDCs/piston. This is what my books say, and Roy Permenter's video VII.

BUT --
So I insert the lifters and then I take a pin light and look down inside intake and exhaust at the lifters and then ___? What am I look for? a) lifters all the way down or b) lifters all the way up?

Any help is appreciated. I have never done this step before.

Ok, Rotate the engine until you can see that both intake and exhaust cam lobes are on the back of the cam, this is compression stroke, bring piston to TDC, check the marks on the harmonic balancer and timing cover line up, your there. As to adjustment, I dont think the USA 200s had adjustable rockers, so nothing can be done there. Make sure you fit the lifters BEFORE you drop the head on. Copious amounts of moly di sulphide grease should be on the cam lobes and lifter bottoms (if they are new).

Hi, if you don't have the timing cover on yet you can align the dots on the sprockets. Otherwise, after the intake valve closes, the next time the piston comes to TDC will be compression. You can put a paint mark on the balancer where the timing pointer indicates. The only really accurate way to find TDC is with a piston stop and a degree wheel, but you can get close enough without one. Good luck

Thanks. That's good.
A couple of notes I neglected: Oil pan is on. Timing cover is on.
I degreed the cam last year (with everyone's help here - thx). That means my dampner TDC mark is spot on.
Reply in reference to aussie7mains, right - USA stock 1.5:1 are not adjustable. BUT I bought a new adjustable Howard 1.6:1 camshaft. Yes!