Newbie here, please help me ID an engine!

A

Anonymous

I´m new to this board. I spend a lot of time on the Vintage Mustang Forum, and asked the same question over there. Got the advice to pay you a visit, so..., here I am. ;)

I need help in identifying the engine in my car, which is a -67 Mustang Coupe with what I believe to be a 250cui engine (not original to the car ofcorse), and a 3-speed manual transmission.
Here are a couple of pictures of my engine. If possible I would like the head, block and carb individually identified, as well as any other thoughts regarding the engine. I allready know that the engine doesn´t match the car, but is there discrepancies other than that regarding the engine. It has been suggested that it is a 200cui, or that it is a 200block with a 250 head. If so, I would like to find out, which is why I would like to have them individually identified.

Left side of the engine:
544225_8_full.jpg

Right side:
544225_5_full.jpg

Block # "C9DE 8015-B". The second digit "9" is hard to read, it could also be a "8" or an"0" :unsure::
544225_10_full.jpg

Intake manifold # "C9DE-6090-M" or possibly "C9OE-6090-M" :unsure::
544225_13_full.jpg

Sticker on the valvecover.
544225_12_full.jpg

Carb, but what is it, and is it "correct" for stock performance for this car :unsure::
544225_9_full.jpg

If it´s possible, I would apprecciate a dechifering of the codes and their significance.

Thanks in anvance!

Anders Olsson

Welcome over here!

I am a little confused by it. It has a low mount starter which leads me to believe 250, but the date code makes me think 200 since they didn't make the 250 in 68 did they?

Same thing, look at the water pump, are there four bolts holding it to the block, or 3? If 4, you have a 250, 3 = 200.

Slade

The head is a 69-74 200. The block is a 68-69 200. I thingk the carb is a carter RBS. Hope this helps. Russell