All Small Six Hydraulic valves or not? 🤷🏻‍♂️

This relates to all small sixes

DrDave

Hi all. About to adjust the valves on my ‘66 Bronco. The original 170 engine was replaced with a 200 I believe (5 expansion/freeze holes).

1. Do I know it’s a 200 because of the freeze holes?

2. Would this have hydraulic or solid lifters?

You can now tell I’m new to this stuff so any guidance would be greatly appreciated :))

DaveM

1. Yes, 144 and 170 only have 3 freeze plugs.

2. I would bet on hydraulic. Could be either or, Ford did use adjustable rockers with hydraulic lifters for a few years. I think they went hydraulic in '63. Not sure what year they stopped using adjustable rockers.

What's the numbers on the block? On the exhaust side, that will indicate the year of your block.

Last edited:
1. Yes, 144 and 170 only have 3 freeze plugs.

2. I would bet on hydraulic. Could be either or, Ford did use adjustable rockers with hydraulic lifters for a few years. I think they went all hydraulic after '63. Not sure what year they stopped using adjustable rockers.

What's the numbers on the block? On the exhaust side, that will indicate the year of your block.
Thx. I’ll get block numbers and check back. :)

1. Yes, 144 and 170 only have 3 freeze plugs. 2. I would bet on hydraulic. Could be either or, Ford did use adjustable rockers with hydraulic lifters for a few years. I think they went hydraulic in '63. Not sure what year they stopped using adjustable rockers. What's the numbers on the block? On the exhaust side, that will indicate the year of your block.
1. Yes, 144 and 170 only have 3 freeze plugs. 2. I would bet on hydraulic. Could be either or, Ford did use adjustable rockers with hydraulic lifters for a few years. I think they went hydraulic in '63. Not sure what year they stopped using adjustable rockers. What's the numbers on the block? On the exhaust side, that will indicate the year of your block.