Induction and Airflow question

A

Anonymous

What effect would introducing a stream of pressurized air into the induction airflow produce?

This pressurized airflow would not REPLACE, but be IN ADDITION TO the engine's normal aspiration (I.E. atmospheric pressure).

The stream would be introduced into the air cleaner snorkel (of a car equipped w/ standard factory cool air induction tubing), it's flow directed toward the carb.

Not a pencil-thin stream of pressurized air, but from a source of 7/8" diameter (approx. 1/3 the a/c snorkel opening size).

The flow would not be present at idle, only when the throttle is open, and it's volume would increase with engine RPM.

Theory: While I am not a scientist or physics major, it seems to me that since an engine is really just a type of air pump, ANY increase in the amount of air that is moving through the engine would be beneficial.

Since a normally-aspirated engine's intake charge is pushed into the cylinders via nothing more than atmospheric pressure, the system described above would be beneficial as it introduces a flow of air into the induction system at a pressure higher than that of the atmosphere.

Or is any possible benefit lost or diminished due to the fact that the air induction tubing is open to the atmosphere at one end?

Or is there benefit present simply due to the addition of a directed, rapidly moving flow of air towards the carb?

What say you?
Your thoughts and input are welcome...

How about Ram-Air?!!

The problems with the 7/8" hose is that at high revs, where you are making decent horsepower, you need an enormous amount of air volume to make an appreciable difference in performance, and secondly, where is this air coming from? The use of a supercharger, which is designed for these applications is a much better way of increasing port velocity. Ram-air helps, but only at high vehicle speeds.