Need your help to identify ford flathead 6

A

Anonymous

:unsure:: Looking for some quick schooling on early flathead Ford six's. I have a early dirt track sprint car from the 40's that originally had a Ford Flathead six engine. Can anyone tell me when the engine was first used in a production car or truck? What were the Cubic inch displacements and how many years were they used? I am new to these engines and would like to find out more for the restoration of this car to it's original configuration. One last question are speed parts still readily available for this type engine? Thanks for your time!

Jeff (hissonut1) hissonut1@msn.com

E-mail me if you would like me to email back a photo of the car in its heyday.

The one I was wondering about has the distributor on the front which is the 41 to 47 model G by that web site. That is exactly the information I was looking for and I really appreciate that link!
Did anyone manufacture a hi-po intake manifold or split exhaust manifold for this engine? What about racing type cams?

oh, well in that case, i'm glad to have helped

an intake or header shouldn't be that hard to get fabricated, if nothing else turns up