Which turbo?

A

Anonymous

I'm new to this but here's an easy question. With my stock 200 (it's been rebuilt just encase some are wondering) which turbo charger whould I be looking for?

I'm looking to order one from these guys but I'm not sure which one to order. It will have to be one of the "no care required" turbos.

-Chris

P.S. Yes, I'm reading alot on turbos to get a little more familiar with this type of modification.

Turbo selection really depends on a lot of factors, but the easiest methods I've found for finding a rough estimate is to use your desired power. Decide what kind of power are you looking for? Then find compressor maps for various turbos. Estimate 8-10hp for every lb/min of flow. For example, if you're looking for 300 hp, look for a compressor that flows about 30-37.5 lb/min at a reasable pressure ratio. This is a very rough method, but it will get you in the ballpark.

how in super mans panties would i be able to put a turbo on my pos 200.........

I posted this on another board in which people aren't afraid to do math. If you don't want to do it yourself, don't bother reading this post:

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/turbo/turbopage.html
Reading it all is good, but "Under Pressure" would probably be the best for you.