200 vs 250

Explorer

When I started the build in my sig line, original idea was for a 250ci but was unable to find one at the time. Build is finished and contemplating another project, since I finally picked up a 250. What would I actually be gaining with it? Still need the low to midrange power band. Torque curve is more important than horsepower again. You all helped me so much with my last build, figured I'd ask again. Tickled to death with how the last one turned out. Got my V8 power and over 18mpg, life is good.

While I have no direct experience with the 250, my understanding is you gain low power torque from the extra cubes of the 250. However, I've heard the 250 doesn't rev as well as the 200 due to the longer stroke. But, for your application and intended use, that is probably of little concern.

Regards,

The 200 is known for its ability to rev but is limited in power by its miniscule connecting rods.

The 250 is a torque monster and since your most likely limited by a hydraulic cam and the huge crank throws the rpm limit is about 5500 anyways.

If I were building a 250 I would try to bump compression and run as long a connecting rod as I could, maybe around a 7.00" long rod with smaller Chevy inline six rod journals and bushed to use Ford .912" wrist pin.

A strong mid range cam say around 260deg duration and about .470" lift and 112deg lobe centers, ported CI head, 4bbl intake and a Autolite 4bbl with annular discharge around 460cfm.

Add a set of dual out long tube headers and I think that would be a pretty wicked street machine application with lots of stump pulling torque.