200 inline 6 vs. V8 in Ford Falcon

mikesova

I just bought a 68 Ford Falcon. I am doing some body work on it right now, but when it comes to the engine, I thought i would jerk it, and put in a Ford 302 or 351. then i came across this site. Why should i build my 200, versus building a V8?

What are the pros and cons of each.

Im just a newbie, so fill me in.

I want to have a street car that i can take to the drag strip and get a decent time.

biggest factor is $$ and finding all of the necessary parts. You do not just jerk out a 200 and put in a V8 and go.

Darin

8)

You wind up replacing most of the front suspension and brakes and in the end it is usually cheaper to buy a V8 car.

And read many of the posts and ask questions.

You can build the inline to about 150-170 crank horespower and the car is about 200 lbs lighter. With the right parts and gearing it can be made to run as good as a stock V8 car, but it wont be as fast as a built up V8 without application of more money and custom parts like a Australian or Argentinian Inline six head to overcome the log heads breathing problems.

Then there are the I6 mages like Mustang Geezer who have a I6 that would shock many a V8 owner.