Choke

A

Anonymous

Stupid question to you guys, but I'm new to cars. But where is the choke on a 66 Mustang? And what does it do?

It is attached to the carb. When your car is cold it allows a different fuel mixture. When the car warms up it closes until it is not needed anymore.

The choke is also attached to the dash. Probably by abracket under the bottom lip. When you pull the knob outwards (cold motor), it causes a flap in the carburettor top, to partially obstruct airflow through the carb. This means the mix in the cylinders has less air and more fuel by proportion (compared to a warm motor).

Activating the choke also operates a small "lever" on the carb that raises the idle speed.

As the engine warms, you progressively push the knob in. If the pedal is floored while the choke is on at all, the mechanism releases, allowing the airflow to pull the choke flap out of restricting mode.

Does this help?

Adam.

his carb has been upgraded to an electric choke or auto choke...then nothing under dash...

manual chokes suck

Welcome to the forum. If you don't know the answer, there are no stupid questions.

Sounds like we have the same model “Stang”. First off find a reprint of the Ford Manual for our model. IF YOU ARE GOING TO WORK ON YOUR CAR YOU MUST HAVE THIS BOOK. There is a good explanation of the mechanical function as well as the Physics behind what is happening. Also, check out the Tech section of the Forum and order the Falcon Performance Manual. I just received mine and it’s worth $15.00 for what looks like years experience on this engine put together in one book. Until then, this is the place to get the answers to your questions.