All Small Six Is this normal???

This relates to all small sixes

My63Comet

I am new to Ford products and recently bought a 1963 Mercury Comet 4-door sedan with the 170cc inline six and Mercomatic trans.
I’m hoping to learn more about the car, performance, and possibly how to get more pep out of it.
It runs and drives great, but going up small hills I have it floored at it is sloooow.
I’m here to find out if that is normal with this drivetrain?

Thanks so much for any help with this and others in the future.

-Doug-

welcome to the SIX side of the cobweb

nothings 'normal' for an old six car.

the 170 with careful tuning of original equipment can optimize the original driving experience of the era. Early 2Spd automatic matched to pre-interstate rear gears limits modern driving needs..

With simple or major modifications to the 170 and original drivetrain, modern drivability can simply be improved or maximized .

Have fun

'63 'more-door wagon' has a 170 from a rusty 71 Maverick. With simple bolt-on' and drivetrain upgrades, the drivability for modern conditions was greatly improved. Original 3.50:1 ratio rear gears are complemented with a 5Spd Overdrive for maximizing the performance tuned 170's torquey powerband.

. . .

OEM C8DE Ford 170, Precision Machine D7 Head . Oversize intake valves/1.50 exh with- silicon springs and HD retainers, . Milled head w/ Steel Shim Gasket. CR= 9.5:1. H/W 5200 - 2.8 series (32/36) progressive 2Bbl carb., Exhaust ¾ siamese port divider, Champion racing spark plugs, Contact Point/Condensor distributor, Diaphragm Clutch. T5 Adaptor/5speed tranny, Short throw Hurst Indy shifter, OEM 3.50: rear, Shelby sway bar, Addco rear sway bar , Fabricated subframe connectors / crossmember, Hooker 6601 dual out longtube headers. Shoulder belts front and belts for three in rear, Dual chamber master cylinder, OEM wide-wagon brakes, dual air line rear shocks, 14” wheels & 205/195-14 tires, Countersprung Tailgate, Original tube radio …

Last edited: