'66 200 Power steering

Greg Gaitens

Hi, I'm new to the forum and am hoping some of you inline experts can help me out. I want to add factory power steering components to my '66 Stang. The car did not come with power steering. Is my understanding that the crank pully is integral to the harmonic balancer and that I will need to find a balancer specific to a 6 with power steering or are the crank pullys/balancers universal, meaning they do not have mutiple groves for multiple belts. Maybe just one long belt drives all three accessories, A/C compressor, P.S. pump and water pump?

Pumps are not hard to find but appearantly the brackt to mount a pump to a inline six is. Any suggestios on where I can find one? Thanks for any help you can provide.

Greg, welcome back to the forum. I am not an expert on the 66 model, but i believe you need the 2 sheave balancer & of course the ps pump brackets & lines, also the power steering centerlink & will need to attach the ps slave cylinder to a bracket to the frame.The best bet would be find a doner in the junkyard for some of the parts.
I now there are other members of the forum which can give more detailed information than myself.
Rather than give you the cold shoulder, some info is better than none, Bill

Thanks for the advice. I am looking at using the new integral P.S. box from MPB or a Steeroids power rack & pinion. With either of these approaches I can use the stock power steering pump. So I believe I need only the correct pully/balancer to drive the pump off the crank and the correct bracket to get the pump mounted to the block. The P.S. hoses will be unique to either set up and will come with their repspective kits.

That's my plan anyway. It's always easier said than done. Thanks again.