Flowmaster deltaflow 50

Russ

I have a Flowmaster Deltaflow 40 series on my 22 coupe 200 with a 2" exhaust. The interior noise level is higher than I would like
Flowmaster advertises the Deltaflow 50 series as having reduced interior noise. Do any of you have any experience with the 50 series muffler?

Yep. On the (bad) advice of my muffler man, I have one on my Mustang with single 2 1/4" exhaust and it sucks. At 1500 rpm's it will drive you crazy with the droning. Sounds like someone blowing across the top of a big jug. I added a glass packed resonator tip; no change.

At idle it sounds good and at highe revs and at WOT it's got a nice sound, but just cruising is very bad. Never again. No more Flowmasters.

As soon as I get a chance, it comes off and some Dynomax turbos go back on with 2" V8 duals.

1500 is 30mph in third and 45 in 4th. Yep I drive it at those speeds a lot. :D

6000 rpm is (theoretically) 157mph in 5th! :shock:

All kidding aside...a lot of people complain about the droning sound in Flows, but to me this is the only muffler that really gives a hi-po sound to a 200 six. I've tried a lot of mufflers (friend owns a muffler shop) Borla, Dynomax,Thrush, glasspacks, turbos. The only I haven't tried yet are Manaflows and Edelbrocks because they're not available here. As Jack
pointed out the sound at idle and low revs is very deep and powerful. At full throttle is even better...doesn't sound like a six. Me, I like the Flowmaster sound at any RPM, but then again I think thats just me. ;)

Alex

Iam running dual turbo glasspacks from JC Whitney and everyone thinks I am running a V-8. It has a nice rumble to it and it is not too loud cruising, I have no problem talking or listening to the radio while cruising along. I do have the exhaust exiting out the back under the bumper and extending about 3" beyond the bumper.