All Small Six Installing and Degreeing Camshaft - 1983 200lm

This relates to all small sixes

Dr_Dan_WWW

Subscriber
Supporter 2021
Two questions: 1. How do get the camshaft gear all the way on without hammering and destroying something? I have a new V.I. double roller gears and chain. And a new Howard cam. 2. How do I know how much to advance +/- the timing?

Howard 466-CL280028-08
Hydraulic Flat Tappet Camshaft & Lifter Kit.
Lift: 0.420 in. Duration: 263/263 Degree.
LSA: 108 degree.
RPM Range: 1200-4800.

Background:
You can tell by my questions I have never done this before. But I am determined to learn (with much help). I started this new thread because I was piled on to the end of "No Oil Pressure / YT Full Roller Rockers" and decided that wasn't kind to the OP. So I am starting fresh here.

I have been slowly working on this 1983 Fairmont engine for over a year. It will go in my '66 Bronco, replacing the old worn out 170. This is a mild performance build according to Classic Inlines Tech Articles . This is a E1BE block and E0BE head. Some of goals are CR of 1.92:1. I am shooting for a DCR of 7.52 using the Fel-Pro .050 head gasket, and a quench of 54cc's. (This is info is courtesy of Bubba22349).

The short block is now finished by Mann's Speed Shop here in Kansas City (excellent people, brothers Dana and Eric Mann): cylinders honed .030, pistons .009 out of the cylinder, new pistons, crank polished, connecting rods balanced, etc. Dana Mann took pity on me and installed the crank and pistons for me. Thx Dana.

Bubba22349 has been incredibly helpful in some private conversations. In order to spare him the pain of answering my noob questions, I thought I'd just afflict everyone equally.

Bronco 1983 engine timing chain  3IMG_7252.JPG
Bronco 1983 engine timing chain  6 IMG_7249.JPG

Bronco 1983 engine timing chain  5IMG_7250.JPG

Bronco 1983 engine timing chain  4IMG_7251.JPG

Last edited: