Intake Porting?

A

Anonymous

Hi All,
I’m new to this forum. I don't exactly have a mustang yet but I will shortly, I am inheriting my girlfriends 65 coup. It has a inline 6 but I’m not sure which one yet(I assume from everything I’ve read here that its a 200ci). I hope to have it toed to my house in the next couple of weeks. I have a couple of questions though. 1st, can the manifold be ported to allow the engine to breathe better? That way when I do put on a 2bbl carb on it, it will flow much better than if I just slapped the adapter and the carb on the stock manifold. And secondly, When I get the car the 1st thing I was going to do is pull the engine for a complete performance overhaul. Do you see this as being a good idea? I just figured it would be easier to work on. Any help would be much appreciated since I’ve never worked on a mustang before.

Welcome to the forum Joe. If you’re having to tow the car it sound like you have some work ahead of you. You’re best bet is to read through the forum form one post to another or use the search.

One of the most common changes is to use another carb. With these engines the carb is married to the distributor. If you change one you need to change the other.

Your best buy to start with is the manual. You will have a lot of questions right at your fingertips.

Have fun, Ric.

Thanks Ric,
I appreciate the welcome. This site is great anything and everything I ever wanted to know is right here. And yes I do have a lot of work ahead of me. I don’t think this car has run since the 80's.

--Joe

Hello Joe, and i hope you like what you see here!!!! There is ALOT of information that people have and spread around from research and/or trial & error. I think you'll find what you need here and i also agree with what Ric said about getting a manual..it will DEFINITELY HELP YOU ANSWER THE QUESTIONS, QUESTIONS, QUESTIONS you have!!!